Technology

A Malware Which You Must Be Aware Of Before You Continue Using Facebook Messenger

The users of MacOS, Windows and Linux are falling prey to this new type of malware. The researchers at Kaspersky Labs have confirmed this cyber-attack. This malware is basically an adware campaign which makes the user download malicious software and gathers information about your browser, operating system, and other data. Once it gets into your system, the malware starts spreading rapidly through Facebook messengers.

malware

The malware automatically sends a message to all your Facebook friends by creating an individual link (e.g. bit.ly/FriendName) to make it look authentic. Your friends would think it is something of great importance as it contains their name in URL. The moment your friend clicks the link it will be redirected to a Google document page. Where one could see a video with their own image as a thumbnail. This image was taken from their Facebook Display Picture. There is also a play button to lure the users to click on it. The moment someone clicks the play button the adware starts downloading into their system.

If you are a user of Facebook Messenger then you must be careful in the coming days to not click any such links. Also, ensure that you are up-to- date with your anti-virus and operating system versions by updating them on a regular basis. In this way, you could save yourselves from future malware attacks.

Manobala Vijayabalan

Manobala Vijayabalan

Manobala Vijayabalan is a writer for Beforeworks and is based in Chennai.
Manobala Vijayabalan

Latest posts by Manobala Vijayabalan (see all)

About the author

Manobala Vijayabalan

Manobala Vijayabalan is a writer for Beforeworks and is based in Chennai.

Leave a Comment